Hello world! I come bearing muffins.

First blog post…YAY!

Hi everyone, I’m Marissa.  Thanks for stopping by my blog!

First things first.  Who am I?

DSCN4177

Well, I’m a student – a college student, actually – in our lovely nation’s capital.  Secondly, I’m an…athlete?  A runner?  I played soccer through elementary, middle, and high school but I can now say that I am JUST a runner…and totally happy with that.  You see, right now, I have this lovely fiberglass friend because I had my ankle reconstructed on December 20th.  No more soccer for me!

DSCN4179

Once I got to college this year and into the swing of things, I realized how awful I am to my body.  Don’t get the wrong idea – I am super active and I loooove to eat, so I’m a healthy person – but I never really listened to my body (as I mentioned in more detail on my About page) and I ended up with some not-so-friendly injuries.  Because of this, I decided to dedicate myself to cleaner eating (my gluten-intolerant gut thanks me!) and to being more well-rounded in my active lifestyle.  And that, ladies and gents, is why I have started this blog…to talk about my two favorite things: working out and eating!  (Well, maybe eating, then working out.  Let’s be real…)

And although this will be a running blog (I promise!) I still have two weeks left in my lovely orange walking cast and then PT, so unfortunately, I will not be posting any running workouts for a few months.  SAD. 😦  But, on a more positive note, ONLY TWO MORE WEEKS!  Then hopefully we can get this cardio party started again!

Like seriously.  I’m desperate for cardio.  As in, I-would-be-elated-to-even-just-aqua-jog desperate.  This cast is seriously a cardio dream-killer.

But on the plus side, I am still going to the gym daily (the manager looks at me like I’m crazy when I waltz in there with a cast on my leg…) and I’m getting buff so I can finally beat Chuck Norris in an arm-wrestling contest.

Lastly, as the name of my site suggests, I am a serious foodie – especially BREAKFAST foods.  I am constantly preaching to my friends and family about how breakfast is the best meal of the day and that it is totally unfair to restrict breakfast foods to one meal per day and how you literally cannot go wrong with breakfast foods.  Seriously, how are muffins and pancakes NOT the greatest foods ever?  …Anyway, I digress.  You get the point.  But luckily my obsession means lots of delicious breakfast recipes in the blog’s future! 🙂

A note about blog logistics (blogistics?): I am planning to post every day, but of course it depends on my class schedule and workload each day.  College life problems.

So I think that is all for now!  More to come.  Consider this blog officially started!

Have a fantastic Tuesday, and please drop in and say hi! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Hello world! I come bearing muffins.

  1. Hey! Congratulations on starting a blog! I think you will love it. 🙂 I have you bookmarked… =)

Leave a Reply

