What a day….

I think that Wednesday is the third-best day of the week.  Thursday, obviously, is the best because it’s the day before Friday.  So then second is Friday, for obvious reasons.

And third is Wednesday.  After thinking about it, third-best out of seven isn’t really that great, but I’ll take it at this point!  I’m really hoping for a nasty, icy night here in DC (sorry, commuters!) because a delay of classes tomorrow sounds LOVELY.

Today was….today was just strange for so many reasons.  First of all, I am riding the motivation struggle bus pretty hard right now, which is not a good thing during midterms.  Also, I had impromptu plans with multiple people today which threw off my usual Tuesday homework schedule, but at least it was nice to see people I don’t get to see very often.  Also, I am feeling extremely frazzled by the papers due and tests I have this week and next week…hence why I am still awake!

I went to the gym approximately 3 hours ago, which may or may not have been a good decision.  Living life on the edge.  But I did a core/arms/shoulders circuit that was surprisingly challenging, which was good.  I keep thinking that when I get my cast off, I’m going to look like a cartoon bodybuilder with giant shoulders and teeny tiny legs since I can’t do any leg exercises!

Another thing that just added to today’s strangeness…I had some SERIOUS munchies.  All day.  Luckily I keep lots of healthy food on hand (I may or may not be eating frozen grapes right now………).

Speaking of food…

DSCN4189

Today’s breakfast was AWESOME.  I finally got more oats (thanks, Mom!), so I made overnight oats and topped them with a dollop of peanut butter and a sprinkle of chocolate chips.  The one thing that missing was some fruit – bananas on top to make monkey overnight oats would have been awesome.  Portability courtesy of my Lock&Lock container, it’s the bomb dot com.  Easy grab and go breakfast to take to class!

Also, on the topic of food, I tried sunbutter today and it was delicious!!  Why have I never tried it before?  That, in addition to fifty million other food items that I need, has officially been added to this weekend’s shopping list.

This weekend I’m going home and my mom and I are going to bake!  For me, bake = MUFFINS.  I’ve been craving them for weeks, and I don’t have the means to make gluten-free muffins here and Whole Foods is a leetle too far away to walk to with a cast on my leg.  Can’t wait to try out a new recipe!  And I’m thinking about making the no-bake granola bars that I saw on Peanut Butter Fingers – they look awesome.

I still have a lab procedure to write up for Chemistry, so I’m going to go do that and then SLEEP like a baby.  Have a great third-best day of the week tomorrow!

What is your favorite breakfast food?  Favorite oatmeal toppings?

Which day of the week is the best?

 

5 thoughts on “What a day….

  1. I’m interested in learning more about the types of upper body circuits you do since that’s all I’m able to do for a few weeks!

    • I’ll start posting them! I’m a big fan of body weight exercises (since you can do them almost anywhere and you get some cardio) but when I go to the gym I use free weights and a few machines. Yesterday’s workout was (x2):

      20 pushups
      20 streamline crunches
      20 tricep dips (off plyo box)
      20 jackhammers
      20 lat pull downs
      20 oblique crunches
      20 shoulder pushups (legs on plyo box)

      Sometimes I do reps, and sometimes I go for time (usually 1 min each).

      • Awesome ! What are shoulder push ups?

      • I don’t know how much weight you’re willing to put on your knee yet, but usually you walk your hands out from your feet until you are in an upside-down V shape with your legs and arms straight. Hands should be directly below your shoulders with fingers facing in. Here is a video – so much easier to see than to explain!

        The first 30 seconds or so shows shoulder pushups. I usually do them with my shins on a medium plyo box since I can’t do fully standing up with my cast.

  2. INteresting! I never heard of this variation. Thanks for the info 🙂

Leave a Reply

