Happy Friday, Folks!

Heyooooo!

This week was a short one but man, was it packed.  Lots of assignments due, lots of late nights.  Phew.  And now it’s FRIDAY!

I am really excited because I actually have plans for the weekend!  One of my friends at a different school in DC is trekking on over tomorrow afternoon for the grand tour and a look around the neighborhood.  Then, one of my friends from home that goes to school pretty close by is coming up for tomorrow night into Sunday for some girl time.  And, I get to hear about her running and pretend that I know what she’s talking about even though I haven’t run in ages…soon though!  I shall return!

Speaking of which, I decided to wait to start cardio until I see my PT (a week from today) but seriously.  I’m struggling.  Ever since hearing the words “bike” and “elliptical” come out of my surgeon’s mouth on Monday, I want to do CARDIO.  I mean, don’t get me wrong, I’m not going to do it until after next Friday…but now walking through the gym past the bikes and ellipticals is making me feel really bitter mildly peeved.

Also, I saw my next-door floormate this afternoon and she saw I was cast-free and of course, I told her gleefully (I think this is the only appropriate word to describe my excitement at that moment) that I should be able to start running straight lines in six weeks.  And she just looked at me like a nut job and finally said, “That sounds…fun?”  And I just wanted to be like YES IT DOES IT IS GOING TO BE SO AWESOME YOU DON’T EVEN KNOW but instead I settled for, “Yeah, it’s pretty cool.”  I think I contained my internal explosion of happiness pretty well.

I didn’t even have coffee today until about an hour ago (decaf of course, I do like my sleep) which was super strange for me.  I mean I have five classes in a row on Fridays, from 8:45 to 2:00, but man.  How did I forget such an important part of my day?  I mean I guess it’s not a bad thing but decaf coffee is just so…sad…

Good news!  My rash is going away!  I think I may actually be able to wear shorts tomorrow, which would be awesome because I honestly just hate long pants in most forms.  Shorts are my usual uniform from about March to whenever the first snow happens and forces me to believe that yes, it is winter.  I’m not sure how many times I showed up for physical therapy appointments last semester in shorts and got weird looks from the staff and other patients.  No shame.  Winter is for three months; shorts are forever.

I’m feeling another cup of coffee and an episode or two of something or other to keep me occupied for the next couple of hours.  Does anyone have any TV show recommendations?  All of my favorites don’t start back up until next week and it kind of sucks trying to find things to watch.

That’s all from me, so I hope everyone has a great Friday night and weekend! I’ll be enjoying this beautiful spring-like weather while it lasts. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Happy Friday, Folks!

  1. I hear you on feeling bitter! I was watching the weekend forecast last night and the meteorologist said “all you runners out there training for a marathon will be happy to know it’s going to be beautiful running weather.” I wanted to throw something at the tv! Why is it that I’ve been training so hard for something all winter and now we have a beautiful weekend and I can’t even enjoy it?! I’m glad you’re going to be able to start cardio soon, though! 🙂

    • Aww that’s so sad! 😦 I know what you mean – when my friend said to me, “Oh that’s so close to campus – you could run there!” I am pretty sure steam came out of my ears. Haha. When do you think you’ll be able to start running again? I hope you get better soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

