It Snowed! and the Search for a New Protein Bar

Hey everyone!

DC is freaking out because it snowed…and no one knew what to do!  Haha.  The federal government and the metro system closed yesterday…so my lovely school was nice and announced today’s closure at NINE P.M. last night!  That’s a big deal.  As far as closure announcements go, that was the earliest of the early.

I didn’t want to risk re-injuring my ankle by venturing out in the snow, so I took a day off from the gym…which is probably a very good thing!  It forces me to take a break so I don’t go too cardio-crazy too early in my recovery.  I mean, twenty-five minutes of spin per day is nothing compared to what I was doing before my surgery, but compared to the past few months, it is a BIG step.  So today, I gave my ankle a rest and just chilled. 🙂

Today went something like this:

9:00 a.m.:  Wke up.  Sleeping in was heavenly.  Tried to go back to sleep but couldn’t so I got up.

9:15 a.m.:  Ate breakfast and browsed blogs and such.

9:30 a.m.:  Got sucked into watching last night’s episode of Amazing Race even though I had work to do…

10:30 a.m.:  Got up and said to my roommate, “I need to get dressed so I can be productive!”

………….Then proceeded to put on a pair of sweatpants over the shorts I slept in and said, “Ha!” then proceeded to sit right back down where I had been five seconds before.

11:30 a.m.:  ACTUALLY began my schoolwork.  Ah, snow days.  I am so fond of you.

I definitely got work done today, but it wasn’t enough for me to feel like I was really productive.  At the same time, I definitely did a good amount of work so I should feel good about it….?  I don’t even know.  All I know is that I am not plowing through this Theology paper like I thought I would and I’ve kind of given up on it for the night.

Also, did you notice how I didn’t post until now even though I had the WHOLE DAY off?  Yeahhhhhhhh.  Oops.  I blame it on snow-day syndrome.

The last thing I wanted to mention was protein bars.  I loved Clif bars but they started to upset my stomach, so I’m looking for new protein bars to get me through days of back-to-back classes when I don’t have time for lunch and for on-the-go post-workout fuel.  Any suggestions?  I have heard good things about Quest bars, so I would be interested to try them.  Let me know in the comments if you recommend a certain brand!

Have a great Tuesday, folks!

2 thoughts on “It Snowed! and the Search for a New Protein Bar

  1. Oh how I miss those college snow days! As far as protein bars go, I’ve always enjoyed power bars. There’s one particular type I enjoy but it’s been a while (I haven’t eaten a power bar since college). I think I’ll have to pursue this myself and get back to you on that one. 🙂

    • We’ve had so many snow days this semester…the administration doesn’t really know what to do!

      And I’ll be sure to let you know if I find one I like! 🙂

Leave a Reply

