Getting Things Done and Real Talk

Today is one of those days where I’m crossing things off my to-do list like it’s my job.  I got back from class around eleven, made myself lunch, popped in my earbuds, got some music playing, and got to work.  One thing crossed off, three to go.  I got this.

How is everyone’s Monday going?  I know it’s Monday, but hopefully it’ll still be a great day for everyone. 🙂

So here’s the deal: I’m taking a little hiatus from my usual food/workout/other ramblings today for a little bit of real talk.  If you’re not interested, I totally understand and feel free to not read any further (…but I hope you will!).  It’s nothing bad – it’s actually quite great – I just don’t usually talk about serious things on here so it’s a bit of a change of pace.  In general, I don’t like to share really personal things, but this needs to be said!

~~~~~

In high school, I was one of those people who was friendly with a lot of people but had very few close friends.  I honestly hated high school and was ready for college by the middle of my sophomore year.  When I got to college, I felt like I was exactly where I was meant to be, but I still struggled to make close friends.  I made tons of “first-semester friends” that I was never really close to, and then I had my surgery and wasn’t able to go out with friends or do the normal fun things (thanks, fiberglass cast, you were awesome) so the whole making-new-friends thing screeched to a halt.  Don’t get me wrong, I wasn’t unhappy or sad, just a little lonely!  Sometimes a girl needs some girlfriends to hang out, gossip, and eat too much ice cream with.

I basically got tired of being a loner and decided to do something about it.  I was happy, but I know I would have been a lot happier if I had made more of an effort to reach out to friends during my recovery!  So, I stepped outside my comfort zone and started hanging out with new people and making new friends.  I am so glad that I did.  I found a different roommate for next year who I absolutely love and get along with perfectly, and a small group of friends that I can see myself being close with for the rest of my time in school.

I felt the need to share this because I came to the realization today that I am in a really, really great place right now.  This is what college is supposed to be like.  This is where I was meant to be all along.  I am strong and I am happy.  I want to say THANK YOU to everyone in my life for being awesome and I love you all.

Good things are happening, and I am grateful everyday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

