Bananas and Revamping My Spinning

Hey hey everyone!  Happy middle of the week. 🙂  Hope the week is going well (and quickly) for you!

Today was a blur.  I had three classes from nine to noon then I packed like a maniac and turned in my Theology essay before leaving campus around one.  I am now officially on Easter break!  Whoop whoop.  AND I have off tomorrow, Friday, and Monday which I am loving because I get to spend Easter with my family without having to rush back to campus Sunday night.

Now, onto the real stuff…

Confession…I have a problem.  A banana problem.  I love them.  I regularly eat two a day (and believe me, that is not the most that I have ever eaten in one day) and I can never get enough.  Give me a banana and some oats or nut butter (or both) and we can be best friends.  Bonus points if you supply chocolate.  If you don’t believe that I have a problem, just take a look at the conversation I had with my friend L yesterday:

Yes, that is Ryan Gosling.  Swoon.

Yes, that is Ryan Gosling. Swoon.

Obviously, I have a problem.  Haha……….I kind of want a banana now.

Another thing that I have been seeing a lot of lately is the spin bikes at the gym!

My daily view at the gym, featuring my right leg.  Haha.

My daily view at the gym, featuring my right leg. 

I like spinning, but it gets a little (read: very) monotonous when you do it every day.  I have been mixing in my strength workouts two to three times a week as usual but the spinning is really seeming to drag on these days.  Enter: spinning mixup!  I’ve been throwing in some crazytown sprint/climbing intervals and I am loving the remix.  My typical spin workout lately looks like this:

5 mins: Warm up, easy pace

3 mins: Sprint, one half-turn resistance increase

2 mins: Climb, one whole-turn resistance increase

2 mins: Recovery, easy pace

4 mins: Sprint, one half-turn resistance increase

3 mins: Climb, one whole-turn resistance increase

1 min: Recovery, easy pace

5 mins: Sprint, one half-turn resistance increase

2 mins: Climb, one whole-turn resistance increase

5 mins: Cool down, easy pace

I try to mix up the interval times each day but keep the same general format.  I’m loving this workout!  It keeps things interesting and it was just the change I needed to keep me motivated.  Also, I’m back to my 6:45 a.m. workout time because I had really missed working out in the morning – it feels great!  I love getting an early start to my day and feeling awake and refreshed for my first class.

Have a great rest of the week!  Tomorrow I am getting a haircut and I am planning to get a lot cut off…I’ll be sure to post pictures. 🙂

One thought on “Bananas and Revamping My Spinning

  1. Pingback: Will Run For Muffins | Tips for Dealing with [Finals Week] Stress

Leave a Reply

