My Lazy Dog, Morning Workouts, and Sweet Potato Hash

Hi everyone!  Happy best-day-of-the-week. 🙂

How has everyone’s week been so far?  I have been enjoying being home – just hanging out with my family and running errands and whatnot.  Last night was the baby sister’s band concert, and she had a flute solo in one of the songs (which she absolutely CRUSHED because she is super talented).  Love that kid.  It was fun to see and hear what they have been learning in band class at school, and she did great!

One of my favorite things about being home is my fur sister – a.k.a. my dog Maggie!  She is the laziest dog EVER, and it is getting worse the older she gets.  Good thing she’s so cute. 🙂  I mean, just look at her…

She's small and still manages to take up more than half the couch AND hog the blanket.

She’s small and still manages to take up more than half the couch AND hog the blanket.

Sometimes I just can't even handle her nap-time cuteness!

Sometimes I just can’t even handle her nap-time cuteness!

Another thing I am loving: morning workouts.  I am so used to just rolling out of bed and heading to the gym in the mornings while I’m at school that I have just continued the routine while I’m at home…and it is GREAT.  Nothing beats a morning workout to wake me up and get me ready for the day!  I have been doing elliptical + strength training (every other day) + PT exercises.  Gotta keep getting stronger so I can run! 🙂

Since I’ve gotten home, I’ve been on a cooking/baking streak.  Banana bread, pancakes, you name it – I’ve made it.  After my workout this morning, I made something especially delicious for breakfast for my mom and me…

Eggs + sweet potato hash!

photo 3 (2)

I peeled and cubed the sweet potato then sauteed it in a little bit of olive oil with salt, pepper, and onion powder.  I think my mom and I are hooked…it was SO good!  We enjoyed it with some coffee…photo 4 (2)

…and a pear on the side!  I can see this meal becoming a staple for us this summer. 🙂

And guess what was waiting for me on the porch when we got home from the band concert last night?  MY NEW RUNNING SHOES AND FOAM ROLLER.

photo 1 (3)

Just look at them…so beautiful.  Getting new running shoes is like Christmas!  I may or may not have said, “Ooh new toys!” when I opened the box…

So that’s what I’ve been up to!  Hope you have a wonderful rest of the week. 🙂

What kind of running shoes do you have?  ^My new babies are the Brooks Ghost 6, and I currently have the Brooks Ghost 5.

Tell me one fun thing you’ve done this week! 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “My Lazy Dog, Morning Workouts, and Sweet Potato Hash

  1. Mmmmm sweet potatoes 😉

Leave a Reply

