Sometimes I Actually Have a Social Life…

…Like I did this weekend.  I love when I can prove that I actually have friends!  Haha.

On Saturday, I went to a town nearby for a little craft/food/music festival with one of my friends (read: former physical therapist) from home.  And it turned out to be a bust. 😦  But have no fear, we headed to Shepherdstown, WV to explore and frolic around Main Street, which was lots of fun!  We ended up getting lunch, treats, and coffee at an awesome little bakery.  They had a ton of fresh breads, the most giant whoopie pies I have ever seen, loads of cupcakes, cookies, and basically anything sweet your heart could possibly desire.  I picked a giant (and GF!) chocolate chip walnut cookie and a cup of coffee.  And the most impressive part: that huge cookie and a large coffee rang in under $2.50!

Yesterday (Sunday), I woke up early, got in a quick workout and breakfast, packed my bags, and headed up to good old Lancaster County, PA to visit my friend S.  I got there around 11:30 a.m. and we headed to a great Peruvian restaurant called El Serrano for lunch with S’s family.  I just love them all.  S has two brothers and have a talent for getting their mom laughing, so needless to say, we had a great time at lunch.

After we got back to the house, S and I headed to a local trail for a little hiking adventure!  The weather was perfect, and we were doing some hardcore twinning in our running tights, sneakers, and zip-ups.  We’re so cool. 😉  We have hiked that trail before together and the scenery is just beautiful.

photo 4 (3)

photo 3 (3)

Side note: I wore my brace just in case (hehe that rhymed…) but my ankle held up perfectly on the trail.  This is big.

After our little adventure, we grabbed drinks (latte for me, frapp for S) at Starbucks…and ended up there for quite a while, just talking and catching up.  By the time we were ready to leave, we decided it wasn’t worth going back to S’s house since we were supposed to be meeting some of her friends at 6.  We met up with three of her friends and went on a chocolate, graham cracker, and marshmallow mission at Weis…then back to the house for S’MORES!

(BTW, those are not my legs/hand.)

(BTW, those are not my legs/hand.)

Many s’mores were eaten.  Lots of laughing occurred.  We had so much fun!  I just love S’s friends.  I had met them all before on numerous occasions so there were no awkward friend-of-a-friend interactions among us.  Perfection.

Around 9:30, S and I headed back to her house…and realized that we had never eaten dinner.  Oops.  So at ten o’clock, we had spinach salad with strawbs and baked salmon.  Random, but extremely satisfying!

Unfortunately S had class early this morning, so I woke up, made breakfast for myself (casually hanging out alone in S’s house…good thing I’m an adoptive family member), and hit the road around 9:15 to head home.  The two-hour drive was definitely not pleasant in my bleary-eyed, coffee-deprived state…but it is always worth it to visit S. 🙂

I’ll leave you with two things I am loving right now:

1. Cinnamon in my coffee.

And sometimes I put it on top too.  Double the fun.

And sometimes I put it on top too. Double the fun.

2. This dog.

Too cute for words.

Too cute for words.

Hope everyone had a great weekend.  Have a wonderful week! 🙂

Tell me something fun you did this weekend!

How do you drink your coffee?  Strong.  With skim milk, sometimes foam, sometimes cinnamon.  Nom.

2 thoughts on “Sometimes I Actually Have a Social Life…

  1. OMG! Someone from outside New England who knows what a whoopie pie is?! I used to work at a bakery in Maine, and the big joke was “if you’re not from New England you don’t know what a whoopie pie is.” That was like 10 years ago, though – I think whoopie pies may have gone viral since then…I drink my coffee with 4 tbs of international delight Almond Joy creamer. LOVE that stuff!

    • Ooh yum! 🙂 Actually, my dad always mentioned whoopie pies since he used to work in a bakery too, and I had no idea what he was talking about for years, until we finally went somewhere that sold them. They are pretty rare down here!

Leave a Reply

