What I’ve Been Up To…and BIG NEWS!

Hey there!  Remember me? 🙂

Sorry that I’ve been MIA for the last…month…?  Summer has been in full swing and is keeping me nice and busy!  I’ve really missed Muffins though, and I am glad to be back. 🙂  Here’s a little peek into what I’ve been up to while away from da blog:

– Eating plantains the size of my face.

photo 1 (16)– Spending time at the BEACH!!

photo 3 (12) photo 2 (16)(I know, I know.  They’re not pictures of the actual beach…I am kind of the WORST at taking pictures.)

– Enjoying one of my birthday gifts.  I absolutely love them!

photo 2 (17)(Other gifts included an iPod Shuffle and a Garmin running watch!)

– Lots and lots of running (of course). 🙂

photo 1 (15)

– Post-run breakfast dates with the best momma ever!

(That, folks, is what happens when I tell my mom to smile while she's chewing her food.  Sorry Mom!)

(That, folks, is what happens when I tell my mom to smile while she’s chewing her food. Sorry Mom!)

– Cooking and eating lots of tasty food…

...which included teaching myself to poach eggs (a fantastic decision).

…which included teaching myself to poach eggs (a fantastic decision).

And, lastly…BIG NEWS!!!

I am running a 5K this Saturday!  Yes, THIS Saturday.  Three days from now.  (More specifically, the Frederick Women’s Distance Festival 5K.)  I am SO excited to be back at it and actually racing!  Of course, I will be taking it easy and listening to my body during the race so that I don’t push it and re-injure my ankle.  This race isn’t about time, or medals, or placing in my age group – it’s all about the comeback.  I will just be happy to finish. 🙂

I am now officially back to the blogging grind, so make sure you stop in here on Muffins and say hello!  And stay tuned for an official race recap this weekend following the 5K.

What have you been up to this week?

Is anyone else racing this weekend?  What are you running?

Leave a Reply

