Back to School and New Running Routes

Hey hey hey friends!  How’s life?

After the whirlwind craziness of the last few days – moving back in at school, buying books, catching up with friends, getting to know my new roomie – I finally feel like I’ve settled in and am ready for classes to start.  Is it lame that I’m excited to have schoolwork to do again?  I just like being busy and feeling productive!  Nerd life. 😀

As far as dorm rooms go, I have a pretty sweet one!  In terms of usable space, I would say that my room is about twice as large as my room was last year.  What a nice surprise!

My room (before I unpacked all of my stuff).  And yes, my bed is as high as it looks!

My room (before I unpacked all of my stuff). And yes, my bed is as high as it looks!

My new roommate is a runner too, which is AWESOME.  We just understand each other!  And we get along really well.  I get the feeling it is going to be a fantastic year! 🙂

Speaking of running, I hit the towpath this morning for an easy 3.6 miles.  It was so nice and quiet along the canal; the only thing that I’m not used to is all of the bikers.  But, as usual, I kept my iPod volume really low and kept to the right and didn’t have any problems! 🙂  There was definitely a lot less traffic on the gravel path, but I was concerned about running three to four miles on an unstable surface like that.  Gotta make the best decisions to keep my ankle happy and healthy!

photo 3 (17)

My view for, well, pretty much my whole run.

Typical blurry running shot.  I promise the Potomac looked a lot prettier than this makes it seem.  You'll just have to trust me on this one. :)

Typical blurry running shot. I promise the Potomac looked a lot prettier than this makes it seem. You’ll just have to trust me on this one. 🙂

I felt like I was in a movie before my run because I had to venture through this creepy, dim, wet, graffiti-ed tunnel to get over to the towpath.

photo 2 (22)

So that’s this morning’s run for ya!  I’m looking forward to mixing up my running routes and running through the city as well, since I can actually run this school year!  I’m also loving having access to a gym again because it makes cross-training and lifting so much easier.  (Plus, I forgot my free weights, kettlebells, and foam roller at home…oops.)

Classes start tomorrow, so today is going to be mainly hunting down classrooms, picking up textbooks, and squeezing in last-minute time with friends before schoolwork ramps up.  Should be a busy (but fun!) day. 🙂

Happy Tuesday!

Where did you run today?

For all the students/teachers/parents: back-to-school time – love it or hate it?

6 thoughts on “Back to School and New Running Routes

  1. I’m jealous of your room! Looks about twice the size of mine! And I totally understand the feeling of wanting to do schoolwork..summer has me feeling so unproductive. Good luck on your first week! (:

  2. Beautiful! Number one reason I run is for the stunning views and adventures! Where do you like running the most?
    Best wishes,
    Jo
    http://www.joannajessica.com

    • I’m definitely a city girl and since I go to school in DC, I love running through the city and by the monuments and memorials. But put me on a path along/near any body of water and I’m happy too! What is your favorite place to run? 🙂

      • By the river – in England I live next the Thames, which is a treat! At the moment I am running through the Bavarian Alps…somewhat more difficult haha. I couldn’t imagine running through a city! So many people in the way! Maybe I’m just mega impatient.

      • I’m definitely impatient on the city sidewalks too – it takes a little while to figure out which streets are usually more or less crowded than others and better to run on. Oh my goodness, you are lucky! The Alps and the Thames, I am so jealous! 😀

Leave a Reply

